Menu
My BookIt.com
Sign In Support Why BookIt.com Coupon Codes Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Site Feedback Vacations Hotels Flights Cruises Things To Do Group Request Careers Press Media

Monday OneDay: $1 Books Your Resort

Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Johannesburg, South Africa (GCJ)

Check Rates for
Hotel Specials
Hotel + Flight from
WAS
Check Rates for
Package Specials
Based on 802 reviews
Room & Rates
Universal Access

Universal Access

1 queen bed
Entertainment - Free WiFi, 32-inch LCD TV with premium channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, minibar, 24-hour room service, and free bottled water
Sleep - Tempur-Pedic bed, premium bedding, a down duvet, blackout drapes/curtains, and turndown service
Bathroom - Partially open bathroom, separate bathtub and shower, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Laptop-compatible safe, desk, and phone; free cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details

Business Twin

2 twin beds
Entertainment - Free WiFi, 32-inch LCD TV with premium channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, minibar, 24-hour room service, and free bottled water
Sleep - Tempur-Pedic bed, premium bedding, a down duvet, blackout drapes/curtains, and turndown service
Bathroom - Partially open bathroom, separate bathtub and shower, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Laptop-compatible safe, desk, and phone; free cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details
Business King

Business King

1 king bed
Entertainment - Free WiFi, 32-inch LCD TV with premium channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, minibar, 24-hour room service, and free bottled water
Sleep - Tempur-Pedic bed, premium bedding, a down duvet, blackout drapes/curtains, and turndown service
Bathroom - Partially open bathroom, separate bathtub and shower, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Laptop-compatible safe, desk, and phone; free cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details

First Class Deluxe

1 queen bed
Entertainment - Free WiFi, 32-inch LCD TV with premium channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, minibar, 24-hour room service, and free bottled water
Sleep - Tempur-Pedic bed, premium bedding, a down duvet, blackout drapes/curtains, and turndown service
Bathroom - Partially open bathroom, separate bathtub and shower, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Laptop-compatible safe, desk, and phone; free cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details
Business Room

Business Room

1 king bed or 2 twin beds
258 sq feet (24 sq meters)

Entertainment - Free WiFi, 32-inch LCD TV with premium channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, minibar, 24-hour room service, and free bottled water
Sleep - Tempur-Pedic bed, premium bedding, a down duvet, blackout drapes/curtains, and turndown service
Bathroom - Partially open bathroom, separate bathtub and shower, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Laptop-compatible safe, desk, and phone; free cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details
Deluxe Room

Deluxe Room

1 king bed
301 sq feet (28 sq meters)

Entertainment - Free WiFi, 32-inch LCD TV with premium channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, minibar, 24-hour room service, and free bottled water
Sleep - Tempur-Pedic bed, premium bedding, a down duvet, blackout drapes/curtains, and turndown service
Bathroom - Partially open bathroom, separate bathtub and shower, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Laptop-compatible safe, desk, and phone; free cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details
Suite, 1 Bedroom

Suite, 1 Bedroom

1 king bed
388 sq feet (36 sq meters)

Entertainment - Free WiFi, 32-inch LCD TV with premium channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, minibar, 24-hour room service, and free bottled water
Sleep - Tempur-Pedic bed, premium bedding, a down duvet, blackout drapes/curtains, and turndown service
Bathroom - Partially open bathroom, separate bathtub and shower, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Laptop-compatible safe, desk, and phone; free cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details
Standard Room

Standard Room

1 king bed or 2 twin beds
215-sq-foot (20-sq-meter) room with city views

Entertainment - Free WiFi, 32-inch LCD TV with premium channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, minibar, 24-hour room service, and free bottled water
Sleep - Tempur-Pedic bed, premium bedding, a down duvet, blackout drapes/curtains, and turndown service
Bathroom - Partially open bathroom, separate bathtub and shower, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Laptop-compatible safe, desk, and phone; free cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details

First Class Deluxe, Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

1 king bed
269-sq-foot (25-sq-meter) room with city views

Entertainment - Free WiFi, 32-inch LCD TV with premium channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, minibar, 24-hour room service, and free bottled water
Sleep - Tempur-Pedic bed, premium bedding, a down duvet, blackout drapes/curtains, and turndown service
Bathroom - Partially open bathroom, separate bathtub and shower, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Laptop-compatible safe, desk, and phone; free cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Corner of York and Gladiator Streets Rhodesfield, Kempton Park, South Africa 1627

Rooms
Make yourself at home in one of the 213 air-conditioned rooms featuring minibars and LCD televisions. Your Tempur-Pedic bed comes with down comforters. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and satellite programming is available for your entertainment. Partially open bathrooms with separate bathtubs and showers feature complimentary toiletries and hair dryers.

Amenities
Be sure to enjoy recreational amenities including an outdoor pool and a fitness center. Additional features at this Art Deco hotel include complimentary wireless Internet access, concierge services, and babysitting/childcare (surcharge).

Dining
Satisfy your appetite at the hotel's restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, or stay in and take advantage of 24-hour room service. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge.

Business, Other Amenities
Featured amenities include a business center, complimentary newspapers in the lobby, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Planning an event in Kempton Park? This hotel has 396.46 square feet (37 square meters) of space consisting of a conference center and meeting rooms. A roundtrip airport shuttle is complimentary at scheduled times, and a train station pick-up service is also provided at no charge.

null

National Rating
Quality Graded by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa (TGCSA) South Africa's official quality assurance organization.

Know Before You Go

  • This property offers transfers from the airport. Guests must contact the property with arrival details before travel, using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • The property has connecting/adjoining rooms, which are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property using the number on the booking confirmation.

Fees

The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for full breakfast: ZAR 185 per person (approximately)

The above list may not be comprehensive. Fees and deposits may not include tax and are subject to change.

Mandatory Fees and Taxes

You'll be asked to pay the following charges at the hotel:

  • Deposit: ZAR 300 per night
  • 1 percent tourism fee will be charged

We have included all charges provided to us by the property. However, charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.

AMENITIES:
  • 24 Hour Room Service
  • 24-Hour Front Desk
  • Business Center
  • Complimentary Coffee
  • Concierge Desk
  • Conference Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning Service
  • Elevator / Lift
  • Fitness Facility
  • Free Airport Shuttle
  • Hypoallergenic Room Available
  • Laundry Services/Laundry Facility
  • Lounge/Bar
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Porter / Bellhop
(+) = Additional fees may apply for the use of these amenities.
(*) = Free, some restrictions may apply

Based on 802 reviews
from Anchorage, Alaska
Submitted on 16-05-2016
Very nice hotel close to airport with excellent free shuttle. Winding down after 4 week trip in Southern Africa. Excellent dining, very pleasant staff and relaxing outdoor garden area. Best wi-fi on trip. Highly recommend We are senior couple retired
from Port Louis
Submitted on 17-05-2016
Staff was excellent in all respects - from the drivers, the room attendants, the guides, the barman, the waiters, the receptionists... They go out of their way to make sure that you spend the best time possible. First the food - excellent at any time. The a-la-carte menu is just beyond description. Then the rooms - clean, well-maintained and well-aired. Bed is just right, neither too soft nor too hard. Then the facilities - the free shuttles to the airport (no need for transfer), train station ... Read more
from London
Submitted on 22-05-2016
We stayed at the Protea Hotel for one night as a stopover between safari lodges in March. The reception staff were so helpful. We wanted to travel to Sandton to buy a Hard Rock café badge and were a little unsure about travelling on the train. The staff were amazing. The hotel provides a free taxi service to the train station - just a 5 minute drive away. The staff assured us that we would be fine and the journey from the local station just outside the airport was much cheaper (around £4... Read more
from Kiev, Ukraine
Submitted on 25-05-2016
Hmm.. it may be conveniet in a certain way - however I will with twice before coming here again - when in JHB on business. Breakfast spread is nice. have already taken my gripes up with them - hope they take it to heart!
from Peoria, Illinois
Submitted on 25-05-2016
On airport but round and round to get there. In a quiet region - no significant aircraft noise. Some road noise. Not too large. Outside eating and lounge areas around water features. Aircraft themed including rooms and public areas. An old aircraft simulator is located in the meeting room area and can be used by guests at any hour. Full bar. No craft beer selections. Restaurant is nice and food very good, local influence on international menu. We had salads for dinner once - a little small for a... Read more
from Lisbon, Portugal
Submitted on 30-05-2016
Very close to the airport, so it is ideal when you are leaving or arriving from/to Joburg (which was my case) and one of the most economic hotels in that area. It has a small but good and tidy gym. It also has a big and wide parking area. Free coffee served at the reception.
from Washington, Virginia
Submitted on 31-05-2016
Stayed first night in SA. Easy shuttle to hotel and they dropped/picked me up at the nearby station for the beautiful high speed train link to Sandton (and Pretoria). Rooms a little tight but fine for two people. Breakfast was excellent, staff super helpful.
from Cairo Governorate, Egypt
Submitted on 31-05-2016
overall the hotel is good place to stay in, clean and has too many facilities which you could enjoy including gym. restaurant is good and the prices are not that expensive. the location also is great, nearly 10 minutes away from the airport and also close to the city
from
Submitted on 01-06-2016
This hotel has a shuttle that runs frequently from OR Tambo. The rooms are on the small size, but clean. The restaurant is open 24 hours which is very handy. I have stayed here twice in 2 years, and was surprised that the bellman remembered me. The décor is all about airplanes, and there is a flight simulator. There is a tour desk at the hotel which is great. The halls in the hotel can get very noisy, and you are in very close proximity to the airport runways. I had a horrible incident w... Read more
from Brisbane, Australia
Submitted on 03-06-2016
Almost two years since we stayed here the hotel is still just as excellent as the last time. Although it was just an overnight short stay the staff were again helpful and friendly. Breakfast was just as excellent as previous and with excellent beds and being exceptionally quiet we had a great stay after a long international flight. Wifi was free and fast. Still the hotel choice in Jo'burg.
from Vaalwater, South Africa
Submitted on 25-06-2016
We chose the hotel due to it's close proximity to OR Thambo airport, however it was not at a walkable distance. There is a shuttle every half hour, which did not turn up on time when we wanted to use it. The rooms are comfortable. Good quality linen and matress. Towels were thread bare. The staff were friendly and helpful during check in but not during our check out at 4am. All in all an average stay for the money you pay.
from
Submitted on 25-06-2016
The location is great when arriving and departing from JNB. The room was quiet and comfortable for a short stay, with high quality bedding and adequate space. We had a quick drink and appetizers at the bar, and we were happy with the service. The decor is industrial - which doesn't scream "comfort" but it is highly functional and efficient. Since we were staying in the hotel for the specific purpose of proximity to the airport, the Protea worked well for us.
from Fairfield, California
Submitted on 26-06-2016
Going to South Africa??if no, why not? Man's origins are not far from here!! When you decide to go to trace our genetic roots, to see a land south of the equator(YES! The toilet DOES flush in reverse order!!!) or to see the greatest mammals on earth, fly into Tourist friendly O'burg (JNB) and rest up at the Marriott Proteus (as in flower) Hotel on KEMPTON park. The buffet is marvelous and the red Pinotage at less then $10 US is a wine lover's value. Gorgeous Swiss style fluffy comforters, a gl... Read more
from
Submitted on 27-06-2016
We stayed overnight whilst attending a banquet at Emporors Palace and had an enjoyable stay. The accommodation was very comfortable and for a hotel close to the airport the noise was not noticeable at all. For an overnight stay this hotel is Just Perfect.
from Bristol, United Kingdom
Submitted on 01-07-2016
This hotel is conveniently located close to OR Tambo airport. You can see the runway from the bar and garden. A very modern hotel located. Rooms very clean and modern, very well laid out. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and pleasent; service with a smile. The shower is located within the bedroom in a glass cubicle (might take some getting used to); the en-suite toilet is located in a separate room.The hotel offers very good value for money. Overall a great stay before a flight home.
from George
Submitted on 01-07-2016
We found this hotel to be a great place to spend the night. Service was good and the staff friendly and obliging.The hotel is located near OR Thambo airport . The shuttle service was very good with polite and efficient drivers. The room booked was of a good standard and the bed was comfortable . The shower is divided from the room by a curtain which i feel was not ideal although not a problem. Supper was adequate and not too expensive. We stayed at the hotel twice ,before and after our flights ... Read more
from Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Submitted on 02-07-2016
We arrived late at night and caught the shuttle to the hotel, easily found and swift regular service. On arrival at the hotel, friendly staff, great interior. Our room was a little different to other hotels I've experienced, but very clean and well maintained. We used room service, which was very reasonably priced and food was pretty good. We ended up having breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel. All reasonably priced and very fresh, tasty and good value. The staff were great and felt ve... Read more
from
Submitted on 03-07-2016
My husband and I stayed overnight at Protea Hotel OR Tambo and were very impressed with the friendly staff and convenient location of the hotel. Our bed was SO comfortable and the room neat and clean. A lovely quick stop when you have an early flight!
from
Submitted on 03-07-2016
Perfect transit stop over en route to George! Loved the industrial theme with all the plane artifacts! Super comfy room, great brekky and cheap meals. Felt comfortable and relaxed the moment we arrived after a long haul flight from Australia. All the staff were very helpful and friendly! Highly recommend it ?????????
from Minneapolis, Minnesota
Submitted on 04-07-2016
Stay here during a long layover at JNB. Great experience. Clean, comfortable room with very helpful staff. Easy to use shuttle to and from the airport. Will definitely use this establishment next time we are in JNB and need a place to sleep between flights! Many thanks to the hotel staff for a great experience!
from Seattle, WA
Submitted on 04-07-2016
Protea was a convenient place to conduct business. The staff was friendly and the place clean. The buffet had lots of choices as well as a good assortment of fresh, local fruit, which is always a boon. My room was quiet even thought it faced the airport and the evening appetizers were wonderful. As a stop-over or a business venue I would recommend. A side benefit was the view of the tarmac. I could watch 747s and A380s come and go.
from Vancouver, Canada
Submitted on 09-07-2016
Good hotel for long layovers or simply not sure yet where to start Johannesburg. Nice setting and friendly staff. Front desk staff and manager Zanele Mazibuko was very helpful.I appreciated her willingness to go the extra mile, help me as a guest. Rooms are clean modern, Good hotel.
from
Submitted on 13-07-2016
Clean rooms and professional check in. Sercive impeccable. Highly recommended. Reputable South African hotel chain. With South African Values. I would recommend this hotel anytime, be it for a short transit stay or a longer one with the Gautrein available for excursions into Sandton and Pretoria.
from Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Submitted on 16-07-2016
This is not the TRANSIT hotel. This hotel is outside the airport terminal (about 5 / 10 mins away). This is a GOOD value hotel. My experience was GOOD. The service was GOOD and efficient. The food and beverage facilities and choice was GOOD. The room was clean and reasonably appointed (free wifi was a huge plus). I had a few drinks at the bar chatting to the bar staff who were great and i had a lovely steak meal at the bar. It was a relaxing and safe atmosphere and quite cool décor (in the for... Read more
from Edmonton, Canada
Submitted on 20-07-2016
This hotel is very near to OR Tambo airport, there's shuttle bus to/from the airport. Rooms modern, clean, big. Personnel very friendly, restaurant offer buffet and a la carte, both are tasty. Strong internet signal and air con and heater working perfectly, staff solved quickly a couple of problems found. Good place to stay for business and if you want to take any tour, they can accommodate your request
from Cape Town, South Africa
Submitted on 20-07-2016
As a result of a flight cancellation, we had to stay over in Johannesburg and this hotel was an excellent affordable option. They have a free shuttle to and from the hotel and airport throughout the day. Rooms were a good size and the meals were excellent. Thoroughly recommended for an overnight stay.
TOP