Menu
My BookIt.com
Sign In Support Why BookIt.com Coupon Codes Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Site Feedback Vacations Hotels Flights Cruises Things To Do Group Request Careers Press Media

LAST CHANCE: $200 Off w/ Promo Codes

ibis Rotorua

Rotorua, New Zealand (ROT)

Check Rates for
Hotel Specials
Hotel + Flight from
WAS
Check Rates for
Package Specials
Based on 1035 reviews
Room & Rates
Standard Room, 2 Double Beds

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds

2 Full Beds
237-sq-foot (22-sq-meter) room with city views

Entertainment - WiFi, flat-screen TV with premium channels
Food & Drink - Refrigerator and coffee/tea maker
Bathroom - Private bathroom, a hair dryer, and a shower
Practical - Iron/ironing board and desk; free cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Hide room details
Superior Room, 2 Double Beds, Lakeside

Superior Room, 2 Double Beds, Lakeside

2 Full Beds
237-sq-foot (22-sq-meter) room with lake views

Entertainment - WiFi, flat-screen TV with premium channels
Food & Drink - Refrigerator and coffee/tea maker
Bathroom - Private bathroom, a hair dryer, and a shower
Practical - Iron/ironing board and desk; free cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Hide room details
ibis Rotorua
Lake End Rangiuru Street Po Box 348, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

Rooms
Make yourself at home in one of the 145 air-conditioned rooms featuring refrigerators and flat-screen televisions. Wireless Internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and satellite programming is available for your entertainment. Bathrooms have showers and hair dryers. Conveniences include desks and coffee/tea makers, and housekeeping is provided daily.

Amenities
Take in the views from a terrace and make use of amenities such as wireless Internet access (surcharge) and concierge services.

Dining
Enjoy a satisfying meal at a restaurant serving guests of ibis Rotorua. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge.

Business, Other Amenities
Featured amenities include a business center, dry cleaning/laundry services, and a 24-hour front desk. Free self parking is available onsite.

null

National Rating
Qualmark« assigns an official star rating for accommodations in New Zealand. This Hotel property is rated 3 star plus and is displayed on this page as 3.5 stars. Official New Zealand Rating provided by Qualmark«

Know Before You Go

  • The photos in this description reflect the brand standard and are provided for illustrative purposes only.

Fees

The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: NZD 21 per person (approximately)
  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: NZD 10.00 per 24-hour period (rates may vary)
  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: NZD 10.00 per day (rates may vary)

The above list may not be comprehensive. Fees and deposits may not include tax and are subject to change.

AMENITIES:
  • 24-Hour Front Desk
  • Business Center
  • Concierge Desk
  • Conference Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning Service
  • Elevator / Lift
  • Laundry Services/Laundry Facility
  • Lounge/Bar
(+) = Additional fees may apply for the use of these amenities.
(*) = Free, some restrictions may apply

Based on 1035 reviews
from Rotorua, New Zealand
Submitted on 16-05-2016
Welcoming, friendly staff in all departments, comfortable beds and the restaurant food is second to none. We had a beautiful, large, lake view room with stunning views. Very close to the main city centre and all the eateries and shops.There is nothing I could fault this place on. Everything was absolutely perfect.
from Wairarapa, New Zealand
Submitted on 18-05-2016
the Ibis is the place we stay in Rotorua. The staff are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. The beds are very comfortable and breakfast gives a good start to the day. The Ibis hotel is good value for money. Beautifully situated by the lake, it is very convenient to all amenities, simply park your car and walk to cafes, restaurants, mineral pools, shops and parks. . The Novatel, which we have also stayed in, is the big and more expensive sister hotel to the Ibis and is ne... Read more
from Newcastle, Australia
Submitted on 23-05-2016
We were 2 couples who booked at one time (8 mths before) and ended with rooms at opposite end of the hotel. Pleasant surprise they gave us a fruit tray each to compensate for the room muck-up. Service at the reception and bar area was very good, rooms clean and tidy and very comfortable. Good position overlooking the lake. Had dinner second night at Novatel next door, service and food very good
from New Zealand
Submitted on 24-05-2016
Stayed at the Ibis again after a lengthy break. The hotel is still OK and what you pay for: a non-expensive stay in central Rotorua. The room is standard Ibis quality, i.e. you get a smallish, functional room with all the essentials. Nothing fancy, but mostly OK. The beds were comfy, the room was mostly clean, but a few things could be improved. Firstly, the carpet in the room was dirty. My white socks were grey after a few minutes. There was also some mold in the shower cubicle and the TV signa... Read more
from
Submitted on 25-05-2016
Beds were fairly comfortable, however the rooms were a bit chilly. Breakfast had great selection. The Hotel was also within walking distance to the lake, shopping, and great restaurants. Staff was fairly friendly.
from Waregem, Belgium
Submitted on 26-05-2016
I stayed 2 days in the hotel. The quality of the room is the same standard as anywhere else. The difference was the reception. The woman behind the desk has answered all my questions and even made a few suggestions. That's how I could enjoy a free evening dinner included with traditional Maori dancing and singing.
from Hamilton, New Zealand
Submitted on 30-05-2016
Good location with parking and friendly staff. Building is a little tired but very clean. Breakfast has a good variety catering for may cultures. nice view from my room. definitely will be coming back.
from Leicester, United Kingdom
Submitted on 02-06-2016
First of all the Ibis Rotorua is in a great location. It is near to the lake and only a short walk from all the amenities. The rooms are basic but a bit tired. We had a lake view which was good. The public areas were quite shabby in places and the floor in the reception area was dirty whilst we were there. The reception is very tiny and is situated next to the restaurant/eating area which is open plan. Therefore whilst trying to check in or out, there is invariably a large queue of people who ar... Read more
from Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Submitted on 07-06-2016
Stayed at this hotel for two nights over a bank holiday weekend recently and was very pleasantly surprised. We had previously stayed at it's partner hotel nearby the Novotel the year before and had intended going there again but it was full. However the Ibis turned out to be practically as good. Very friendly welcome especially as we are Accor card members but staff were funny , friendly and helpful and check in smooth and easy. Room was comfortable and bathroom clean although no actual bath ju... Read more
from St. Petersburg, Florida
Submitted on 14-06-2016
My title reflects the attitude of the staff. They were pleasant and present. The room was nothing to write home about. There were two of us in the room and we had to keep asking for two face cloths each time they changed the linens. Breakfast Buffett was bad. Runny eggs, beans, spicy noodles, rice, toasters slow, dining room sparse. I don.t see how this is a three star property.
from Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Submitted on 16-06-2016
While Ibis might only be a 3 star hotel the service is 5 star. The rooms are comfortable and the bar well stocked. Because it is right next door to the Novotel you can dine there or at the Ibis which gives some great options depending on your budget. It is also right by Eat Street with a number of great places to dine.
from Wellington, New Zealand
Submitted on 16-06-2016
I've stayed in Ibis hotels around NZ and have always been impressed that a 3 star hotel offers 5 star service. The check in was smooth and friendly and nothing was too much for the duty staff. The bonus is that its right next door to the Novotel so you can dine there and charge back to your room. It's also on the door step of the main dining precinct and walking distance to many local attractions.
from
Submitted on 17-06-2016
People working were very helpful. Very knowledgeable with all local attractions and our questions. Breakfast was fantastic, and the rooms were nice. We had a nice view, but the weather was a bit miserable. In a great location, right near main restaurant/bar area. Limited free wifi in Lobby only though.
from Auckland, New Zealand
Submitted on 20-06-2016
the team at reception were very helpful and friendly. I had to have my swipecard rekeyed and they made it really easy. the room is a good size for business purpose and lovely to have a lake view. it would be great to have a wine glass in the room, as I had to go down and get one. it would also be great to have a better TV reception. I will certainly come and stay again
from
Submitted on 02-07-2016
Had a real good stay at the Ibis in Rotorua. Upon arrival we were real well welcomed into the hotel by Dave at reception which set a real good vibe for our trip/stay as it was our first time in Rotorua ­???. The rooms were good & had a nice view of the lake & also nicely situated near town. Breakfast was good was well! Only recommendation would be to have better TV quality. Not a major but it would be nice. Anyways thanks IBIS for the good hospo over the weekend ­???
from Hastings, New Zealand
Submitted on 05-07-2016
You get what you pay for which is good. No frills but what there is, is good. Clean, comfy bed, food okay, breakfast very good, staff all smile at you. Have stayed before & will again. Close to Eat St & main shopping area, lake, Catholic Church all in walking distance.
from Auckland, New Zealand
Submitted on 08-07-2016
Pleasant Journey down to Rotorua and were greeted by friendly and helpful staff at the Ibis front desk. Room was great and view stunning. Great to be able to share the facilities primarily the Hotpools at the Novotel oh so relaxing. As usual fabulous and value for money Buffet dinner at the Novotel restaurant. Hotel bars were great but also close to town restaurant strip so could take a nice stroll for a drink there as well. Overall great.
from Fort Worth, Texas
Submitted on 10-07-2016
This hotel was booked for me as part of a tour. In retrospect, I probably would've been happier had I requested the Novotel next door instead. I've stayed at other Ibis properties before and knew it would be more on the budget end, but this one seemed a tad more run-down than some others. I had a king room, which was decent in size. The bed was fairly hard, and the linens and pillows were mediocre quality. The bathroom was small, and I disliked the shower stall as it was very small an... Read more
from Kawerau, New Zealand
Submitted on 13-07-2016
It was my son's birthday so I booked a room at the flash hotel Ibis in Rotorua and I received the email to say what features are with the booking and I was blown away it was awesome. But it wasn't like that at all: - room was not city or lake view - no windows in the room and was really stuffy - TV kept cutting out - Sky was not working Because we live in Kawerau it hardly ever happens that I waste money on a hotel, but this was special for my son and his partner, hence why I booked it.
from Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Submitted on 14-07-2016
Good clean rooms and bathrooms. Close to the main shopping area and Eat St. The Lake is just over the road too, there was a little market on on the Sunday morning not sure if it's on every week..... The only down side was we ordered room service and was told we would need to go down to reception to collect the food, which I have to say was very average, microwave nachos are not good!!!!! We would stay here again.....
from
Submitted on 22-07-2016
Clean rooms and bathrooms. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Great location near the lake as well as restaurants, shopping, and bus center/tourism office. Would stay again and recommend to other travelers looking for a comfortable and inexpensive option.
from Turangi, New Zealand
Submitted on 23-07-2016
The room was relatively basic, but all very nice and tidy. There is parking onsite, but this does fill up really quickly. It is a great location, as it is just a quick walk to some of the main shopping areas and Eat Street. All in all a very enjoyable and comfortable stay.
from Melbourne, Australia
Submitted on 25-07-2016
We were happy with our stay here. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Its a very short walk to a stretch of restaurants and bars which was great Also its about 1km (15 minutes) walk to the Kuirau Park which is stunning to see Geo thermal activity there and we were able to take few nice pictures here. in terms of location its hard to say if its a great one or not as we stayed there as a part of our tour, so, not sure about the transportation to and from the hotel.
from Hamilton, New Zealand
Submitted on 28-07-2016
Good location. No problem with room except the air conditioning appears to have a mind of its own (may be centrally controlled as it was like it turned off in the middle of the night & the room got too warm). This is not the first time we have stayed at the hotel & this has happened either. Made for an unpleasant sleep & you want to open a window but it's not possible.
from
Submitted on 01-08-2016
This was our second stay at this hotel. In the evening, guests gathered in the dinner/breakfast area to socialise and play board games. This combined with reception activity and rugby on the television, made the experience not optimal. Compared with our previous visit, service levels had dropped, but not for lack of trying by the staff, who seemed somewhat stressed. There were multiple tour groups staying in the hotel and the service level failed under the strain. Breakfast was where this was mo... Read more
from Sydney, Australia
Submitted on 10-08-2016
Like all other Ibis hotels this one too is a budget hotel and is strictly functional. The rooms are congested with limited furniture. Central heating for the room is not well maintained. Through hotel staff was courteous enough to arrange portable room heater but this is something I have experienced before with Accor group hotels. Pros Ô?? Lake side rooms offer very nice view, decent breakfast options Cons, No room service, limited parking, cramped rooms and bathrooms Recommended for single trav... Read more
from Tauranga, New Zealand
Submitted on 14-08-2016
The location of Ibis is central to beautiful Lake Rotorua and Eat street. ibis was a beautiful choice to stay at. however, the rooms are quiet small and did not appear to have been well cleaned. the room temperature was lovely and the beds were comfortable. customer service consultant were so kind and lovely. would recommend for the location and a weekend break one night only.
from Bristol, United Kingdom
Submitted on 24-08-2016
We had a comfortable stay here, in a decent sized room. The location is great, very well situated near the lake and the main streets in Rotorua. You can access free unlimited wifi by signing up to their accord reward scheme for free, which we did and it was worth it. Ask at reception when you get there for details. The parking was on the street, but very close and very convenient. This was a decent place to stay on a budget. Many Thanks for an enjoyable experience.
from
Submitted on 27-08-2016
Great friendly service (Dave), nothing was too much trouble - clean tidy rooms larger than expected - and very handy location to restaurants, cafes and shops. Shared facilities (pool/spa) with Novotel next door. Good value accommodation.
from Cambridge, New Zealand
Submitted on 28-08-2016
a number of our group were 'out of towners' staying for two nights, good service, clean but small rooms with large comfortable beds, no plates and no cutlery in rooms but otherwise great. Buffet or Continental breakfast available suitable for all visitors. Within walking distance of the main stream restaurants and the lake
from
Submitted on 31-08-2016
Hotel close to the lake front with lovely views over the lake. Clean rooms and good shower however meals come through from adjoining hotel so can not guarantee that they will be hot when they arrive - we returned one twice and then asked for a refund
from
Submitted on 11-09-2016
Was impressed by the friendly professional staff there is usually one who isn't so good but they were all approachable and willing to help. Nice decor though starting to be a bit jaded with some paint damage a few stains on carpet and getting to where refurbishment is needed-but luckily the housekeeping staff made up for this keeping the place clean and tidy despite the need for new carpet and new paint. Linen was in good nick with nice white bath sheets and decent sheets and pillows. Shame ab... Read more
from New Plymouth
Submitted on 16-09-2016
Rooms are very tidy, lot of room for luggage and great value. Walls a little thin - could hear the neighbours. Close to Eat Street, kids playground and the lake. Best part is being able to use the Novotel pools.
from Stafford, United Kingdom
Submitted on 18-09-2016
The staff were great , Really friendly and helpful, Ema on reception was superb. But.. The bed (room 459) . Terrible , it felt like the springs were coming through the mattress top and the pillows were so soft they collapsed under our heads and folded up over our faces. We had to call down to reception to get extra towels. Two towels for two people. All of us know that women need One for drying One for wearing and One for their heads. lol No drinking glasses in the room either ... really Ibi... Read more
from
Submitted on 21-09-2016
Great positioned accommodation. Central to shops and "Eat street " ( heaps of restaurants and caf├ęs ). Views of the of the lake, which was only a 2 minute walk! Staff friendly and very helpful. Only downside was limited tv channels and it was very expensive to watch movies, which is all we wanted to do, after a long day of sightseeing.
from
Submitted on 22-09-2016
Room and washroom are too compact. While you walk in the passage, you can easily hear whatever is going on inside the rooms, may be the doors are not sound proof at all. Limited options for vegetarian people in the breakfast. Only half an hour wifi. But clean and tidy and is also near the market, eating outlets and the lake.
from
Submitted on 26-09-2016
Simple, compact, tidy and accessible. Staff were friendly. Buffet breakfast was well stocked with variety and waiter cleared your tables..unlike our stay at Auckland Airport Ibis earlier this year. Would happily stay again
from
Submitted on 02-10-2016
Too compact hotel.. receptionist (rosie) was not welcoming at all. No hospitality rooms are soo old.. towel looks so old threads were coming out... tv remote doesn't work. Breakfast was good. Can not be called as hotel should be backpacker.
from Auckland, New Zealand
Submitted on 02-10-2016
This hotel is ideally situated for Eat Street as well as the lake itself and some of the attractions. You can safely park your car on the hotel premises and then walk to the nearby places. The room was adequate and clean. The breakfast was amazing - delicious with a huge variety for all tastes. We will definitely stay again.
from Wellington, New Zealand
Submitted on 06-10-2016
Stayed in twin share rooms as part of large group. Criminally expensive wi fi, and the tvs didn't really work, but the staff were friendly and I expect it was well priced . Good location, so I would recommend if your standards aren't too high!
from
Submitted on 07-10-2016
If you want somethin good ambience. So you can really prefer this hotel. From here you can go by walk for indian restaurant and also so many cafes. The hotel is also near by river side so you can go and hang around. And also they offer free car parking. Must try the hotel
from Kochi
Submitted on 09-10-2016
The hotel is located on the main road but a little away from the city center. The staff even though very limited are very pleasant and helpful. The room is very basic but clean and comfortable. The breakfast is passable mainly continental. The other meals at the hotel are very limited. It would be better to go to other restaurants.
from Greensboro, North Carolina
Submitted on 17-10-2016
The staff is courteous and friendly, the rooms are clean and adequate. This hotel supplies your basic needs in a comfortable manner. The location is perfect, a short walk to eat street with lots of great restaurants, an even shorter walk to the lake. They don't have a gym or pool but you can use the neighboring hotel they are connected with during your stay.
from
Submitted on 17-10-2016
Rooms are amazing, beds are comfortable, staff are friendly, breakfast is fabulous. It's right in town, and near all the night life, easyy to get to places, most rooms come with two double beds. Clean, ask for a room with a view of the lake.
from melbourne
Submitted on 19-10-2016
Our room was clean but air conditioning didn't seem to be working. It was a hot, stuffy night even though it was cold outside. But what really will stick in in our memories forever is the disgusting sulphur smell that come poring through the air-von early in the morning. We could get out quick enough. Not even a shower! Not sure if this is just Rotorua? Not please tell. We did stick around for the average buffet breakfast, and at $60+ for my husband,11yr old son and I it was disappointing. Good... Read more
from New Zealand
Submitted on 19-10-2016
Staff helpful and accommodating.A mouldy smell which went after the airconditioning was used.No opening windows but view of Lake Rotorua( and carpark) Breakfast satisfactory. Comfortable bed and clean room.Quiet. Standard Ibis hotel.
from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Submitted on 21-10-2016
We were there in the third week of September. Room was average however the air condition was faulty and it was like a sauna in the room even though it was cold outside. Called the front desk but was told that no maintenance staff on duty and had to wait until morning? In the end a nice young man from another department came up but could not do anything. So we had to change rooms at near midnight! The lady at the front desk was quite rude. Heard and saw her talking rudely to some chinese tourists... Read more
from Bendigo, Australia
Submitted on 22-10-2016
We stayed here for 3 nights whilst in Rotorua. This accommodation is in need of a good facelift and is very outdated. Our bed and pillows were extremely uncomfortable which made a good nights sleep almost impossible. On a good note I can say it was at least clean and the staff were very friendly.
from Pune
Submitted on 23-10-2016
Stayed in many hotel in Rotorua, and Ibis had smallest room in all. Hotel is at city center near to eat street and lake, at premium location to roam around without car. Small room, okay service and cleanliness and basic breakfast, nothing specific to mention about hotel than its location.
from Wellington, New Zealand
Submitted on 02-11-2016
The beds in the Ibis and Novotel are not comfortable, we like the Ibis and Novotel hotels however all we have stayed in have uncomfortable beds the Millennium have very comfortable hence we make them first to stay .
from Baltimore
Submitted on 02-11-2016
We checked in with no problems. The hotel staff went above expectations and explained the amenities available. There was access to the sister property Novotel next door. They had some geothermal mineral pools which we were able to use. That was really a great surprise which enhanced our stay.
from Mumbai (Bombay), India
Submitted on 04-11-2016
The location was perfect. Walking distance from city center and eat street. Also this is 2 mins from Rotorua Lake so luckily we got a lake facing room. Although the rooms are small, they are clean and well maintained. Breakfast had a decently sized spread of porridges, sausages, bacon, fruits, yogurt, noodles, fried rice, breads and beverages. However the same spread everyday. They need to improve their 24 hour in room dinning menu because it is very limiting and expensive. No swimming pool or g... Read more
from
Submitted on 12-11-2016
We booked a lake view room which was amazing. Our room was interconnected with the other which made it convenient to interact and stroll around. The breakfast was ok. The size of the room is very small. Not spacious at all.
from Harrogate, United Kingdom
Submitted on 13-11-2016
Stayed two nights at the Ibis in Rotorua. We'd booked a city view room but they kindly upgraded us to a lake view room as it was our honeymoon. View was superb! Room was clean and comfortable and although one of the smaller rooms we have had is was adequate for our needs. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel is in an ideal location for main sites of Rotorua. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on that. Would recommend and would stay here again!
from Chicago, Illinois
Submitted on 20-11-2016
We planned to stop in Rotorua for one night on our recent 2 week trip through New Zealand, so as a stop-over hotel we chose the Ibis as it was much less expensive than the Novotel right next door. (We tried to stay in Accor hotels since they have free WiFi with their free membership.) The Ibis was as I expected - nothing luxurious, but certainly a very decent place to stay. Check in was easy, and our room was upgraded to a lake-view room, which was nice but still quite small. The bed was comfo... Read more
from
Submitted on 28-11-2016
We stayed for two nights in this Hotel,which is located near the shopping area and restaurants on the Tutanekal Street.The room was comfortable and well maintained.The breakfast was o.k.and filling.The reception staff were very helpful and courteous.The Hotel offers free WiFi and internet connectivity which is very good.The Lake is close to the Hotel and a lake-view room offers an excellent view.A decent hotel,good for tourists.
from Tauranga, New Zealand
Submitted on 30-11-2016
We have stayed at the Ibis before and this time I was not very impressed, a bond was put on my credit card, where in the past it had never been then on the day of check out - Room service was knocking on the door repetitively from 0930 onwards wanting to clean the room. We had 11am checkout so I felt this was very poor service from the Ibis.
from Washington DC
Submitted on 30-11-2016
This was a typical chain hotel. The front staff was nice, the room was okay. Pros: great location, easily access the town center, restaurants, lakefront, and main roads in and out of town. Free parking, is limited under the hotel, but there is street parking too. My room was a lake view room. Cons: Chain hotel. Lots of tour groups. I had no toilet paper or towels in my room, I had to ask twice to get it. Also the shower didn't work right, the handle had to be jiggled, and then you had to let... Read more
from Brisbane, Australia
Submitted on 01-12-2016
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay, even though it was only overnight. The staff were all friendly and helpful, from front desk, housekeeping and breakfast staff. The room was very clean and spacious, with a great view over the lake. The hotel is an easy walk to lake, gardens and shops as well as other places of interest. The superb breakfast was a great way to start a day of sightseeing.
TOP