Menu
My BookIt.com
Sign In Support Why BookIt.com Coupon Codes Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Site Feedback Vacations Hotels Flights Cruises Things To Do Group Request Careers Press Media

Limited Cyber Codes Available

Hotel St-Denis

Montreal, QC, Canada (YUL)

Check Rates for
Hotel Specials
Hotel + Flight from
WAS
Check Rates for
Package Specials
Based on 632 reviews
Room & Rates
Standard Room, 1 King Bed

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed
Entertainment - Free WiFi and cable channels
Food & Drink - Refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, and free bottled water
Bathroom - Partially open bathroom, a hair dryer, and a shower/tub combination
Practical - Free local calls, safe, and iron/ironing board; free cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Hide room details
Superior Room, 2 Double beds

Superior Room, 2 Double beds

2 Full Beds and 1 Full Sofa Bed
Entertainment - Free WiFi and cable channels
Food & Drink - Refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, and free bottled water
Bathroom - Partially open bathroom, a hair dryer, and a shower/tub combination
Practical - Free local calls, safe, and iron/ironing board; free cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Hide room details

Room "Run of the House"

2 Twin Beds
Entertainment - Free WiFi and cable channels
Food & Drink - Refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, and free bottled water
Bathroom - Partially open bathroom, a hair dryer, and a shower/tub combination
Practical - Free local calls, safe, and iron/ironing board; free cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Hide room details
Hotel St-Denis
1254, Rue St-Denis, Montreal, QC Canada H2X3J6

Rooms
Make yourself at home in one of the 48 air-conditioned rooms featuring refrigerators. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and cable programming is available for your entertainment. Bathrooms have shower/tub combinations and hair dryers. Conveniences include safes and desks, as well as phones with free local calls.

Amenities
Make use of convenient amenities, which include complimentary wireless Internet access and a television in a common area.

Business, Other Amenities
Featured amenities include a computer station, complimentary newspapers in the lobby, and a 24-hour front desk. Self parking (subject to charges) is available onsite.

null

Know Before You Go

  • Children 12 years old and younger stay free when occupying the parent or guardian's room, using existing bedding.

Fees

The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Self parking fee: CAD 16 per day

The above list may not be comprehensive. Fees and deposits may not include tax and are subject to change.

Mandatory Fees and Taxes

You'll be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: CAD 50 per stay

We have included all charges provided to us by the property. However, charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.

AMENITIES:
  • 24-Hour Front Desk
  • Elevator / Lift
  • Free Local Calls
  • Multilingual Staff
(+) = Additional fees may apply for the use of these amenities.
(*) = Free, some restrictions may apply

Based on 632 reviews
from USA
Submitted on 27-04-2016
Great location - near the metro, lots of great restaurants and nightlife nearby. The hotel is on the smaller side but had everything we needed. The bathroom and shower are realllllly small and the water pressure isn't great, but it got us clean. There is no fan or AC in the room so it may get hot in the summer. We did OK with the windows open, but we did get a lot of noise (other guests? street noise?), so bring earplugs. The small refrigerator was appreciated. The staff were all fantastic - kin... Read more
from Brooklyn, New York
Submitted on 28-04-2016
Stayed 3 nights on a family sightseeing trip. Be aware the they charge extra for the second person in a room - I made a mistake when booking and put in 1 adult instead of 2. Charge was about 15% addional although staying in the room booked. Really a bad start. Check in was slow. Room was big and fairly clean. Way too warm and no way to control except opening windows. Not very well sound insulated and party in another room Sunday night was annoying. Hallways worn. Best thing was the location. Wo... Read more
from New York City, New York
Submitted on 02-05-2016
Good ,small hotel with a very helpful and friendly staff.The location is terrific.Restaurants everywhere on Rue St. Denis and on very busy Rue St. Catherine.The hotel is within walking distance of old Montreal,Notre Dame Basilica and the Underground city.Most importantly,the hotel is very clean,comfortable, and reasonably priced,a very good value.
from Rolla, British Columbia, Canada
Submitted on 16-05-2016
Highly recommended right in the centre of Montreal right close to the metro. Italian Restaurant close by is really good for breakfast and dinner. Few blocks away from anything you desire to do. First time in Montreal really enjoyed. Recommend to get the jacuzzi suite. Was fairly spacious!!!!
from Toronto, Canada
Submitted on 17-05-2016
I stayed here with a friend for two nights. It was only about $CAD100/night for a large room with two queen beds, renovated, clean, and quiet. Nothing at all extravagant but very pleasant; I can't think of a single problem with the place. It has a large lounge on the main floor, which I used when my friend wanted to have a nap upstairs. It's close to Ste-Catherine, which means that if you go left you're in the city centre, and if you go right you're in the gay area. Restaurants abound, of all... Read more
from Chicago, Illinois
Submitted on 28-05-2016
It's very close to the metro and you can walk to the old city, gay village, and Chinatown. The rooms may be dated but who cares. You aren't there for the spa. You are there to sleep in a clean place with a great location. I will be staying there again. Oh and the employees are nice and helpful.
from Boston
Submitted on 30-05-2016
If you seek a clean, comfortable, convenient place to stay in Montreal, look no further than the Hotel St. Denis. It is close to Old Montreal, close to Metro stations and close to many other neighborhoods and attractions. The rooms were more than sufficient, whether you are staying for one night or for several nights. The elevator is small, and there is no breakfast offered. There are computers and a printer and a cool basement lounge area with pool tables, televisions and tables for games.
from
Submitted on 06-06-2016
Clean, very comfortable, small, basic room in a very central location. Can walk to everything, and the metro is one block away. The area is a bit seedy, and street noise was loud on Saturday night. I would give the hotel 5 stars if the location was nicer (but it was super convenient).
from
Submitted on 10-06-2016
The Hotel St- Denis is small but very clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice and helpful. It's location was great, right down the street from the Metro with lots of restaurants around. The city is easy to navigate and so was the Metro. We parked the car when we got here and walked or used mass transit. Would defiantly stay here again.
from Brampton, Canada
Submitted on 13-06-2016
Clean quaint,comfortable, convenient location, close to old Montreal shopping and restaurants. The staff was very helpful, Virginie is her name I believe was so helpful. We would stay at this establishment again.
from
Submitted on 15-06-2016
Lovely hotel pretty central, the room was lovely and big. Hotel staff were friendly and the value was excellent. I would definitely recommend this and stay here again. The area in parts wasn't as good as some other areas of Montreal. It was a 10 minute walk to the congress centre and maybe a 15-20 minute walk to the old town. The room was large and had the feeling of staying with a friend. It was immaculately clean also
from Ayr, Australia
Submitted on 16-06-2016
Our room was very spacious, it could have slept 6. Unfortunately there were no ceiling lights, so it was difficult at times to see in the suitcases for things. Great lobby area, chairs to sit in and wait for friends or chat. Snack machine is a great idea for travellers who don't want to go down town for a drink or chips. Lift is a boon for those with suitcases or the elderly or small children. Three restaurants within metres, gives you choice for meals. Can highly recommend the Italian one next ... Read more
from Indianapolis, Indiana
Submitted on 18-06-2016
We booked this hotel because of price and location. Don't expect all the frills you'd get with more expensive hotels. You get what you pay for here. However, overall, I'd say you get your money's worth. Bed was decently comfortable, bathroom was nice and clean, and room came with a mini fridge. It is very small though, so don't expect a lot of extra room. The best part about the hotel is location. It's walkable to everything.
from Seattle
Submitted on 22-06-2016
Very reasonable pricing--a real bargain with no downside. Location is central and convenient on edge of the Village. Nothing fancy or extravagant, however, the decor is simple, attractive and surprisingly tasteful. Rooms and hallways are exceptionally clean and comfortable. Good quality bed. AC, iron, coffe maker and refrigerator in room. Free Wifi--good connection speed. Thoroughly competent and discrete housekeeping services. Front desk staff and staff in general were polite, professional and ... Read more
from La Mesa, CA
Submitted on 30-06-2016
We had asked for a quiet room when we booked this hotel. Alas, at 4 a.m., a delivery truck was just outside our room, making a terrible racket and beeping every time it was in reverse. The hotel moved us to a "quieter" room, which also turned out to be a nerve wracking "construction zone" which woke us up once again. I suppose with such a short summer, there needs to be ongoing work during sunny months. However, if you are looking for peace and quiet, do not try to stay here! Office staff i... Read more
from Calgary
Submitted on 04-07-2016
We stayed at the Hotel St. Denis for 3 nights in early July. Our room was on the fourth floor, facing the street, and we had no concerns with noise. Check in was quick and friendly and we paid $130 a night, plus taxes (which were about another $25). Our room was very basic, but clean, and a decent size. The best thing about the property is the location. It was about a 15 minute walk into Vieux Montreal, two blocks to the metro station, and just a block away from busy Ste. Catherine street a... Read more
from Seattle, Washington
Submitted on 10-07-2016
This hotel is conveniently located in the middle of several cool Montreal neighborhoods (Chinatown, Latin Quarter, Gay Village, downtown) and is one block from the central subway line connector stop, The room was a bit small and the toilet paper is unbleached, otherwise it's a nice place overall. Staff were friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable and the water pressure and temp were good in the bathroom.
from
Submitted on 13-07-2016
We stayed in Montreal for two days (one night) during the Jazz Music Festival. The staff was extremely friendly during our stay. We had a corner room, which was very lovely and comfortable. The location itself of the hotel is excellent! We could walk anywhere from where we were; for example, China Town, the Old City, and the Old Port. The price was also reasonable. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Montreal!
from Rochester, New York
Submitted on 13-07-2016
We very much enjoyed our stay here. Staff was pleasant, knowledgeable, and helpful. Rooms were clean and large enough for our tastes. Situated near many of the attractions. Walking distance from Old Montreal and the Old Port. Subway is 1.5 blocks away for access to other places we wanted to go. Would highly recommend.
from Vaughan, Canada
Submitted on 13-07-2016
This hotel was within walking distance of everywhere that we wanted to go. We did find it to be old with dated furniture and washrooms. The bed was comfortable. The window air conditioner was a little loud as was the noise from many sirens and helicopters flying overhead as a result of the jazz festival that was taking place late into the night. If location is important to you, it is a good place to stay at. We spent six nights in Quebec during our trip and would rate this hotel last out of the... Read more
from Union, Kentucky
Submitted on 18-07-2016
Just stayed two nights at Hotel St. Denis last week and explored Montreal. Hotel St. Denis would be considered by many to be a bit off the beaten path as it is not in the heart of the Old Montreal Port Area but for us that was a good thing. Hotel St. Denis is only a fifteen walk to the old town and is less than a block from the nearest Metro station. The hotel is no frills but certainly nice enough for a short stay. It is much like the many smaller hotels where we have stayed in Europe. There... Read more
from Hamilton, United Kingdom
Submitted on 19-07-2016
Superb location - lots of great local eateries and close to the subway. Lots of places were walkable too. Not the chicest of hotels but very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We had a great sized room that was very quiet at night with very comfortable beds. Really good value for money.
from ontario
Submitted on 23-07-2016
My daughter and I were on a getaway and after reading tons of reviews, we decided to book at Hotel St.Denis. We weren't disappointed. It's located within walking distance of so many places, and the room was a standard room with bed/tv/mini fridge. The bed and pillows were great after a long day of walking around Old Montreal, and the Quarter Spectacle!
from Italy
Submitted on 25-07-2016
Been to this place a few times already. The hotel has a very convenient location. In july with all the festivals around the area is unbeatable at these prices (if you book well in advance). Staff was very nice and helpful this time, they also allow customer to print pages from computer near lobby, bed is extra comfy, room is very clean, roome have a safety box, coffee keurig machine, hair dryer(even if i dont use it) Look of hotel is old style but is kept extremely well, especially the rooms. O... Read more
from Canada
Submitted on 25-07-2016
Perfect location to enjoy the Just for Laughs Festival. Right in perfect downtown St-Catharine area! Room is superclean. Beds were comfy! The price was amazing too!!!! Definately stay here if you want a nice weekend!
from
Submitted on 26-07-2016
Very good choice ! This hotel is very well located, very close to the subway stations, supermarket and lots of restaurants. I got really surprised about the confortable facilities in the room. Perfect bed, clean and silent place.
from
Submitted on 28-07-2016
Helpful staff, clean, no noise (room 212) centrally located, budget friendly. Secure parking available at a garage around block (approx $20 nt). Some seedy characters wander by occasionally from Rue St Dennis but was never bothered by hotel and felt safe. Nice Thai restaurant next door.
from
Submitted on 02-08-2016
We had booked a room for Osheaga weekend. The reservations agent booked the wrong dates and we only noticed upon arrival. I was shocked because this hotel has a great rating. After sending an email explaining the situation, the hotel manager apologized and refunded the night that was incorrectly booked and charged. With a big chain hotel, I would expect this to happen, but this is a small hotel, and I appreciated the gesture.
from Lindsay
Submitted on 03-08-2016
good location, small but very clean and comfortable room. Lovely staff. Easy access and parking just around the corner. Close to St Catherine Street, the Village and Old Montreal. Nice breakfast at Pacini right next door, but a little expensive. Also good breakfast and reasonably priced menu at Denos just down the street. Great Stay
from Kendal, United Kingdom
Submitted on 06-08-2016
A very nice independent hotel close to everything. Most tourist things within a 10 minute walk. Pleasant reception staff who are apt to speak English. Room small but clean. Good value for the price paid.
from
Submitted on 10-08-2016
The staff was friendly, warm and accommodating. The room was immaculately clean and ready long before check in time. It is a great hotel for non-smokers. Carpeting in the halls but wooden floors in the room great for someone with allergies to dust.
from canada
Submitted on 10-08-2016
All the positive reviews are true. This place I think is a hidden gem. It's quaint and clean. Air conditioner is on the loud side. But if you can leave it on all day, it's comfortable to sleep with out at night. We were only there for a 2 night stay, but definitely be back. It's staff are super sweet. No attitude what's so ever. True class act. Location is great for restaurants and cafe s up a couple of blocks. Close to old Montreal. You have to like and enjoy walking. But you also have he subwa... Read more
from Toronto, Canada
Submitted on 22-08-2016
Spent 2 days mid August, very clean hotel, rooms on smaller side with very comfortable bed, friendly staff, a lot of European charm, close to old Montreal, less than 5 min walk, would stay again and recommend.
from New York/Jersey
Submitted on 25-08-2016
If you are looking for an aesthetic experience this isn't it. But the value is very good. 1 Near a major train station 2 Small fridge and coffee maker in the room 3 Mostly reliable WIFI 4 Decent bathroom 5 King size bed (at least for us) 6 Quiet A/C 7 A 15-18 minute walk to the Old Port area 8 TV 9 A good closet and dresser
from New York
Submitted on 01-09-2016
Hotel St. Denis was great. We enjoyed our stay. They offered parking around the corner for about $18 American per day, which was great. The bed was always made and the AC kept the room nice and cool. We would definitely stay here again when we go back to Montreal.
from Charlotte, North Carolina
Submitted on 02-09-2016
Stayed for 3 nights here. It is a small hotel room that meets basic needs such as TV, AC, and wifi. We like the convenient location to old town, supermarket and Metro. Staff were friendly and helpful,. But we found a stain in the bed cover in the 2nd night. So we won't give a high five rating.
from Las Vegas, Nevada
Submitted on 07-09-2016
Clean room right near McGill College, restaurants and bars. About a mile walk to Old Montreal. Parking was available for a reasonable fee and secure around corner from hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff.
from Toronto, Canada
Submitted on 08-09-2016
staff attitude was horrible, when we questioned the charge, we were rudely asked to leave the hotel.and the room lacks cleanliness and hygiene. we found bed bugs in the pillows. There was no apologies, we were moved to an inferior room, yet were charged full price.
from Troutville, Virginia
Submitted on 13-09-2016
Hotel St-Denis is a very good hotel in a great location at a very reasonable price. There are plenty of bars and restaurants within a half mile radius, and old town is only about a half mile walk straight down St-Denis. Parking garage is available right around the corner for $16 per day extra. The only drawback is that the rooms are a little small, but that is to be expected in a hotel of this vintage. It is very well maintained, and has the charm of a nearly 90 year old building. We thoroug... Read more
from Honolulu, Hawaii
Submitted on 25-09-2016
The location of the hotel was excellent! It is right near the main metro station that will take you to any of the sights. It was so easy. There are restaurants, bars, & stores nearby. It is no luxury hotel but it was very clean and comfortable. They have vending machines in the lobby for your convenience. They also have a keurig machine in the room. A game room with pool table and television is in the basement if you just want to lounge at the hotel. Staff were very friendly. They always gree... Read more
from
Submitted on 27-09-2016
Stayed here many times, every visit has been perfect, no complaints, clean, comfy, friendly, helpful staff. Very Close to metro. Walking distance to old Montreal and Chinatown. Parking garage is just around the corner.
from Basel, Switzerland
Submitted on 28-09-2016
Big rooms, a bit oldstyled but clean. Shower was terrible but the rest was OK with good bed. Location in town is very good, 10 min walk to vieux Montreal (easy access to the underground also) and the receptionist was very helpful.
from
Submitted on 29-09-2016
An elegant old entrance, welcoming front desk staff --very helpful and speak both French and English. A well appointed room with a very comfortable bed. I parked right outside the door--check for times for free parking on the streets. I was passing through but definitely will go back, good location. Slow elevator! Its renovated with hard flooring in the room--very clean. Retains some of its older charm
from Summerland, Canada
Submitted on 29-09-2016
The location was great for walking to the old town, downtown and we walked to Mont Royal from here! Easy access to the Metro and buses. The Room is clean with the expected amenities like coffee, tea, and toiletries. Clean and service was friendly and quick! We called the front desk about a concern and was dealt with rightaway! Too bad our bed was way too soft!! Good value!
from Garland, Texas
Submitted on 03-10-2016
We had a lovely suite and were very comfortable. Great location for the Metro access. Only gave 4 stars because parking was $16/day which was a bit pricey for us. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.
from New York City, New York
Submitted on 03-10-2016
We stayed here at the end of August 2016. While the hotel doesn't have lots of extra amenities or bells and whistles, what is does have is a very nice, responsive staff, good prices and a very good location. The room was small but perfectly fine for our needs.
from Houston
Submitted on 08-10-2016
The location is great for exploring downtown Montreal, on foot. Rooms are clean and simple, with coffee pod machine in each room. There is one lift. In the basement there is a large common living area, which also has a microwave. Reduced stars 'coz of no breakfast and parking is $16 per day, at a facility very close by. When booking rooms ask for rooms at the rear of the building as street-side rooms have a lot of noise from revellers late at night and traffic early in the morning. Front desk st... Read more
from New York City, New York
Submitted on 14-10-2016
Fourth time staying at the Hotel St. Denis. This hotel is perfect to tour Montreal. It is located close to the UQAM/Berri Metro. The hotel is very clean and rooms are very comfortable with a nice bathroom and TV. Wifi works well. Pricing is very affordable!
from Pickering, Canada
Submitted on 18-10-2016
The location of this hotel is good as it is walkable to downtown area and old Montreal. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The amenities are just average, although I do like having the Keurig coffee machine and fridge in the room. It is not delux but fairly good value for a decent room.
from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Submitted on 19-10-2016
Perfect for us due to location and access to all of old Montreal. We knew when we booked 2 nights there that it was not high end and had no restaurant. Those were not necessary for our vacation visit. All of our basic needs were met within 3 blocks of the hotel. We would definitely stay again!
from Norfolk, Virginia
Submitted on 24-10-2016
This is a good hotel, especially for the price. It is in a convenient location as well with only a short walk to the old city and a block to the metro. However at night, it is a bit sketchy outside but not too bad to be honest. Just keep an eye out.
from Williams, Arizona
Submitted on 26-10-2016
this hotel is in an interesting area. the hotel itself was very clean. we enjoyed being able to walk to our destinations. the food in the area was truly wonderful and a great way to taste the flavors that Montreal has to offer.
from Victoria, Canada
Submitted on 29-10-2016
Room was large with couch and the bathroom was newly renovated. Hotel looks like a dump from the outside but don't be put off by the outside appearance. Very clean and staff friendly. Sign outside states it is a 3 star hotel. I would say it is a 2 star and the price reflects that. Looked at a room in the Hotel Suites La Belle and the St Denis rooms are much better if you don't require a kitchen. Our room was quiet as it faced the inner air well. No view but sure was quiet. Lost points becaus... Read more
from
Submitted on 31-10-2016
This hotel was is very basic, but that's what you expect for the price. It was very clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the wifi was free and fast. A few minor cons: one-ply toilet paper and the tv remote didn't work any further then about four feet from the receiver. But overall a very good hotel, especially for the price. The location was perfect, about a 30-second walk from the biggest subway station in the city. We would definitely return if heading back to Montreal.
from
Submitted on 14-11-2016
The hotel was clean, basic and very central. Staff was helpful and made great recommendations for restaurants. 2 computers in the lobby and sitting area which was handy. A 10 minute walk to Old Montreal and other sites.
from Ottawa
Submitted on 15-11-2016
Stayed here in September 2016. Front staff was excellent. Very nice people. The building is old but well maintained. Room was small but was travelling solo this time so the size was not an issue. It really felt like I had stepped back into time. The architecture and design had that feel. Narrow hallways. Big heavy doors. Crown molding around the ceiling. Old door knobs on the doors. Tiny little elevator. It was great! If I recall the television had great reception unlike other hotels I tend to... Read more
from Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Submitted on 17-11-2016
I was stuck and couldn't find a hotel, the manager went over the top to find me a room and accomodate me. The place is comfortable and clean and well located but there is no breakfast. However, a good breakfast can be found right down the corner. I rate this hotel tops for friendliness. One low point: a LOT of noise outside my room in the early morning.
from
Submitted on 17-11-2016
The hotel was basic (but didn't lack anything), clean, and very well located (in the Quartier des Spectacles, not far from the Old-Montreal and Old-Port). Ths staff was helpful. Good price for what you get.
from
Submitted on 26-11-2016
This hotel is conveniently located at the corner of St-Denis and St-Catherine streets. The room (2 very comfy queen beds) was really large and had a desk, mini-fridge and a loveseat. The room had this fabulous antique feel of montreal's older appartments built in the first half of the 20th century. The room was super clean and the staff very helpful. There was a parking garage located just around the corner. I felt the price was very low for the kind of room and location I got. Highly recommen... Read more
from Bozeman, Montana
Submitted on 27-11-2016
Hotel St Denis is my go-to hotel when in Montreal--for the last 8 years. I've never had less than a great experience: always very clean; front desk staff always congenial, knowledgeable, and professional. The location is very convenient to metro, bus station/car rental, good eateries and sites. Not a chain--a plus in my book. Reliably perfect for my modest needs (clean, comfortable bed; bathtub, wifi, quiet, parking, competent and helpful front desk).
TOP