Menu
My BookIt.com
Sign In Support Why BookIt.com Coupon Codes Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Site Feedback Vacations Hotels Flights Cruises Things To Do Group Request Careers Press Media

TODAY: $5 Books Your Hotel Details 

The Great George

Charlottetown, PE, Canada (YYG)

Check Rates for
Hotel Specials
Hotel + Flight from
WAS
Check Rates for
Package Specials
Based on 486 reviews
Room & Rates
Traditional Room, 1 Queen Bed

Traditional Room, 1 Queen Bed

1 queen bed
Entertainment - Free WiFi and cable channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker
Sleep - Pillowtop bed, premium bedding, a down duvet, and turndown service
Bathroom - Private bathroom, shower/tub combination, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Free local calls, free newspaper, and iron/ironing board; free cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Climate-controlled air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details
Deluxe Room, 1 Queen Bed, Fireplace

Deluxe Room, 1 Queen Bed, Fireplace

1 queen bed
Relax - Fireplace
Entertainment - Free WiFi and cable channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker
Sleep - Pillowtop bed, premium bedding, a down duvet, and turndown service
Bathroom - Private bathroom, jetted bathtub
Practical - Free local calls, free newspaper, and iron/ironing board; free cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Climate-controlled air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details
Romantic Suite, 1 King Bed

Romantic Suite, 1 King Bed

1 king bed
Layout - Separate sitting area
Relax - Fireplace
Entertainment - Free WiFi and cable channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker
Sleep - Pillowtop bed, premium bedding, a down duvet, and turndown service
Bathroom - Private bathroom, jetted bathtub
Practical - Free local calls, free newspaper, and iron/ironing board; free cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Climate-controlled air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details
Traditional Room, 1 King Bed

Traditional Room, 1 King Bed

1 king bed
Entertainment - Free WiFi and cable channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker
Sleep - Pillowtop bed, premium bedding, a down duvet, and turndown service
Bathroom - Private bathroom, shower/tub combination, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Free local calls, free newspaper, and iron/ironing board; free cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Climate-controlled air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details
Traditional Room, 2 Double Beds

Traditional Room, 2 Double Beds

2 double beds
Entertainment - Free WiFi and cable channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker
Sleep - Pillowtop bed, premium bedding, a down duvet, and turndown service
Bathroom - Private bathroom, shower/tub combination, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Free local calls, free newspaper, and iron/ironing board; free cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Climate-controlled air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details
The Great George
58 Great George St, Charlottetown, PE Canada C1A 4K3

Rooms
Make yourself at home in one of the 54 individually decorated guestrooms. Your pillowtop bed comes with down comforters. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and cable programming is available for your entertainment. Private bathrooms with shower/tub combinations feature complimentary toiletries and hair dryers.

Amenities
Enjoy recreation amenities such as a 24-hour fitness center or take in the view from a garden. Additional amenities at this Victorian hotel include complimentary wireless Internet access, concierge services, and a fireplace in the lobby.

Dining
Meet other guests and eat at a complimentary reception. A complimentary hot/cold buffet breakfast is included.

Business, Other Amenities
Featured amenities include a 24-hour business center, complimentary newspapers in the lobby, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Planning an event in Charlottetown? This hotel has 1465 square feet (132 square meters) of space consisting of conference space and meeting rooms. Free self parking is available onsite.

null

Know Before You Go

  • The property has connecting/adjoining rooms, which are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property using the number on the booking confirmation.

AMENITIES:
  • 24-Hour Front Desk
  • Concierge Desk
  • Conference Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning Service
  • Elevator / Lift
  • Fireplace in Lobby
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Local Calls
  • Laundry Services/Laundry Facility
  • Multilingual Staff
(+) = Additional fees may apply for the use of these amenities.
(*) = Free, some restrictions may apply

Based on 486 reviews
from Downpatrick
Submitted on 17-05-2016
Facilities wonderful and staff just can't do enough for you. So relaxed and laid back atmosphere. Town feels very safe and locals are very friendly. Plenty of great eating places to suit all palates. Thoroughly recommend this.
from Kamloops
Submitted on 17-05-2016
Everything about our stay at The Great George was superb. The front desk staff were so welcoming, the hotel is so unique and we were treated like royalty. The location is perfect. We highly recommend this hotel and suggest a stay of at least 2 nights.
from Blaine, Washington
Submitted on 18-05-2016
It's rare that a hotel can make you feel at home rather than at a hotel. But that's exactly what The Great George hotel does. From the warm welcome you receive at check-in...to the varied breakfast available in the lobby or to go each day...to the complementary happy hour each weekday afternoon...to its charming, elegant ambiance and superb location, this hotel is simply the best. The staff is knowledgeable about their island province and readily provide information, maps and recommendations on ... Read more
from N.B.
Submitted on 21-05-2016
The level of quality is outstanding at the Great George. The service, the location, and the rooms are all excellent. You can tell that the owners and staff take pride in the building and it shows. Breakfast was terrific as well. The only drawback is that parking can be tricky around the building as the dedicated lot is small, but that is more of an FYI than a negative point. Highly recommended.
from New Brunswick, Canada
Submitted on 24-05-2016
Many nice touches - fresh flowers in room, homemade cookies, wonderful breakfast, beautiful sitting areas, very guest friendly. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Close to lots of restaurants, the Confederation Centre, shopping and the waterfront. Love it!! And will certainly be back.
from Washington DC, District of Columbia
Submitted on 02-06-2016
We fell in love with PEI, and one of the best aspects of our trip to the island was staying at The Great George! The ambience was luxurious without being stuffy, and the staff were friendly without being pushy. We felt pampered and at home in the stylish lobby, where we enjoyed breakfast and a lovely happy hour.
from Halifax, Canada
Submitted on 03-06-2016
We were on the island for a family event, normally we would have stayed with family but we had wanted to visit Charlottetown for a while and had a little extra money to splurge on a "fancy" hotel. I'm so glad we did. We had a wonderful experience at the hotel.
from
Submitted on 04-06-2016
Absolutely gorgeous hotel and super friendly staff. Our room was so beautiful and included a fireplace nook, claw foot rub and shower, as well as a beautiful desk to look out onto the city streets. Continental breakfast was nice! Welcome cocktail reception and warm cookies were wonderful! A must stay!!! Loved it
from New Brunswick, Canada
Submitted on 07-06-2016
This was our first visit to PEI to celebrate our Honeymoon and made the great george our first stop. We had booked a few months in advance in hopes of having a perfect stay. We would have rated 5/5 if it wouldn't have been for the broken screen door in our suite. We had notified the staff and they assured us it would be fixed the next day(we would leaving in the morning after spending $500 in total for our one night stay package). So it was dissappointing that we would not make use of the upp... Read more
from Halifax, Canada
Submitted on 07-06-2016
Stayed here for the second time and was just as delighted as my first visit. The service, especially at check-in, is excellent. The traditional rooms are very nice and any concerns about street noise, which is minimal, are offset by earplugs provided by the hotel. I love the complimentary happy hour, freshly-baked cookies until midnight, continental breakfast and parking. However, I don't think I would stay here if I couldn't get my corporate rate as the standard rate is substantially higher.
from Tallahassee, Florida
Submitted on 11-06-2016
What's not to love about The Great George? We had a large, comfortable, attractive room. The entire building oozes with character and charm - inside and out. Exceptional staff. Tasty complimentary breakfasts. If we ever have the pleasure of visiting Charlottetown again, we'll certainly return as guests of TGG!
from London, United Kingdom
Submitted on 18-06-2016
We stayed two nights here as part of a tour of Atlantic Canada and we were not disappointed. The room was beautiful and very tastefully decorated (though why no pictures on the walls?). The bathroom was top notch, with Aveda products and a huge walk-in shower. The hotel provides a wonderfully comfortable lounge area with big sofas, newspapers and tea/coffee all day. The nice touch of free cookies in the afternoon and a welcome drink in the weekday evenings is very much appreciated. Do the f... Read more
from Toronto, Canada
Submitted on 19-06-2016
Great service, love the casual breakfast in the lobby but really thoughtful to have breakfast to go bags for those heading out early. We were with friends and it was nice having a living room to share an evening cocktail before dinner. Room was very comfortable but if you can't do stairs make sure you request a main floor since our room was two stories and a good hike with luggage. Main floor room of our friends was loud with the people above. Excellent location walking distance to dinner.
from West Sussex
Submitted on 21-06-2016
We were looking forward to our three-night stay at the Great George as part of our two week fly-drive around Nova Scotia and PEI and it did not disappoint. We had a nice room in the main house with a Jacuzzi tub and good seating area. Bathroom had a large shower and heated floor. While we were here it was our anniversary; the wine and chocolates were greatly appreciated. The staff at the George were very attentive and service was very good. We were lucky enough to experience the tour of the hote... Read more
from US
Submitted on 22-06-2016
We have a house in pei and one in nj. But we spend tons of nights at the great george. Late concert/dinner in town? We book a room. Arriving on a late flight or leaving on an early flight. We book a room. Want to be pampered? We book a room. Holidays? You got it. They run an amazing operation all year long. Fresh baked cookies always on the sideboard. Fast wifi. Quiches and frittats for breakfast. Big fireplace faced by leather sofas and wing chairs. Only place we stay. Only place out business g... Read more
from
Submitted on 23-06-2016
This hotel was amazing. It is broken up into separate historic buildings, each with a different theme. We were greeted by very friendly staff who walked us to our room. The room was very spacious, and decorated with antique furniture. It is very close to everything downtown Charlottetown has to offer, with many restaurants less than a five minute walk away.
from Ottawa, Canada
Submitted on 27-06-2016
Just spent 6 nights at a one bedroom condo at the Great George. Great condo - gas fireplace, access to share terrace, full kitchen, exposed brick ... Service was wonderful, they took the time to remember my name and when I could not lock the terrace door they sent someone straight away. Already planning a visit next summer!
from
Submitted on 29-06-2016
We recently had a staycation at The Great George for our first Anniversary. We had a wonderful stay and really enjoyed our weekend. The atmosphere is charming and the staff were extremely helpful. We were given a free room upgrade and some local beer and chocolate covered Cow chips. The chocolate chip cookies which were essentially always available were delicious and the cocktail hour with live music was lovely. Altogether a wonderful weekend. One we soon won't forget. A charming hotel in a wond... Read more
from Holland, Michigan
Submitted on 01-07-2016
Immaculate hotel in a great part of town. Very helpful and capable staff. They seemed to think of everything we needed. The walking tour of the area was great. Wish we could have stayed longer. Cudos to the owners for their rehab efforts on this and other nearby buildings.
from Richmond Hill, Canada
Submitted on 03-07-2016
My family stayed at The Great George in a suite for 3 nights. A lovely setting, great location across from St. Dunstan's Basilica, near everything. We had a king size bed with a modern jacuzzi in the bedroom, and a lovely sitting area with a fireplace. Room was very clean, continental breakfast included was average. The hotel boasts many celebrities have stayed here including Anne Murray, Regis& Kelly, etc. Staff was very friendly and helpful, would definitely stay here again.
from liverpool
Submitted on 04-07-2016
We so enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Great staff, amenities and lovely bedrooms. It was a treat to stay here and was the hotel highlight of our Nova Scotia tour! We particularly enjoyed the free walking tour of the neighbourhood put on by the hotel every day learning about the history of the hotel buildings and how they have been conserved and developed. They are in the heart of the old quarter of Charlottetown.
from Corydon, Indiana
Submitted on 04-07-2016
We chose this hotel from online reviews and it really lived up to its name! We were walking distance from sights, restaurants and pubs. The staff was super helpful and rooms gorgeous. A very pleasant experience !
from
Submitted on 09-07-2016
Very nice room, very helpful staff, free laundry, good breakfast. The location was wonderful and within walking distance of anything you'd like to see in Charlottetown. The hotel is historic and one of the nicer places we saw to stay in the area.
from
Submitted on 09-07-2016
We had a wonderful experience at The Great George. Excellent service without being pretentious. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location so you can easily walk around Charlottetown. Clean and comfortable rooms. We only wished we could have stayed longer.
from Toronto, Canada
Submitted on 15-07-2016
Quiet. good-sized rooms. Great variety of food for breakfast included (bagels, French toast, yogurt, fruits, eggs, etc.). Fresh baked cookies, tea and coffee available continuously in the front lobby. Very helpful staff. In order to conserve energy, there is an option to forgo housekeeping and instead get a $10 coupon for local restaurants. Hotel occupies a collection of renovated historic buildings that make a great contribution to Charlottetown's heritage district.
from
Submitted on 17-07-2016
We stayed in a condo unit at The Great George for an impromptu visit to Charlottetown. Every person you interacted with was helpful and friendly, the accommodations and attention to detail (fresh flowers, aveda products for example) plus the super clean and comfortable rooms made us want to stay permanently! We loved our visit and I'm already thinking about how I could use this hotel for future client events. It's a great place to stay and very easy to walk to the harbour front, restaurants and ... Read more
from Coleford, United Kingdom
Submitted on 18-07-2016
The reception staff were exceedingly friendly, helpful and knowledgable and always greeted us with a genuinely warm smile. When we were looking for ideas of places to visit for whole or half day excursions, we were provided with maps and routes in a folder. We were upgraded to a serviced apartment in a town house which was spacious, clean and well equipped. It was also in a perfect location for sightseeing in the town. The buffet style breakfast was plentiful with a good range of options and con... Read more
from Dartmouth, Canada
Submitted on 20-07-2016
We spent two nights at the Great George. It was our first time here, but it won't be our last. My husband and I were completely thrilled with this lovely place. We were only booked to stay one night, but decided to add a night to our stay. We had two different rooms, both were beautiful. The lobby, common area, of the hotel is really beautiful. It's a combination of historical inn and upscale hotel. Perfection to me. The breakfast ( which is included) was really nice. It was nice to visit with o... Read more
from Halifax Region, Canada
Submitted on 20-07-2016
Our first time in P EI just wonderful can't believe how amazing it is had a great time walking around .went for dinner Claddagh house rest meal and great staff . Than went to Victory st to a bar at bonefish Great entertainment a band Theresa Doyle Treo had a wonderful night and the ferry from Nova Scotia and meals on board very nice .Takes 1hour and 15 minutes.
from London, United Kingdom
Submitted on 23-07-2016
Given the number of older guests that stay at this relatively expensive hotel I am surprised at the breakfast arrangements . Breakfast is taken in the lounge , on your lap or hunched over a coffee table , neither great for the digestion system . Beware if this isn't your ideal . As for the hotel itself we had a relatively large room on the end of the hotel main building backing on to a side street . No noise issues as mentioned in some reports , housekeeping a bit patchy , dirty mugs not wash... Read more
TOP