Menu
My BookIt.com
Sign In Support Why BookIt.com Coupon Codes Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Site Feedback Vacations Hotels Flights Cruises Things To Do Group Request Careers Press Media

$2 TUES: $2 Books Your Resort

Cairns Plaza Hotel

Cairns, Queensland, Australia (CNS)

Check Rates for
Hotel Specials
Hotel + Flight from
WAS
Check Rates for
Package Specials
Based on 801 reviews
Room & Rates
Standard Room

Standard Room

1 double and 1 single bed
269-sq-foot (25-sq-meter) room, balcony with city and mountain views

Entertainment - Free WiFi
Food & Drink - Refrigerator and coffee/tea maker
Bathroom - Private bathroom, shower/tub combination, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Free newspaper, iron/ironing board, and desk
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Need to Know - No cribs (infant beds) available
Non-Smoking, wheelchair accessible
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details

Standard Room High Floor Room

2 double beds
Features a private balcony

Entertainment - Free WiFi
Food & Drink - Refrigerator and coffee/tea maker
Bathroom - Private bathroom, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Free newspaper, iron/ironing board, and desk
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details
Studio

Studio

4 single beds or 1 king and 2 single beds
431-sq-foot (40-sq-meter) room, balcony with city and mountain views

Entertainment - Free WiFi
Food & Drink - Kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, and coffee/tea maker
Bathroom - Private bathroom, shower, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Free newspaper, iron/ironing board, and desk; cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details

Suite, 1 Queen Bed with Sofabed, Ocean View

1 queen and 1 sofa bed
Features a private balcony

Entertainment - Free WiFi
Food & Drink - Refrigerator and coffee/tea maker
Bathroom - Private bathroom, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Free newspaper, iron/ironing board, and desk
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details
Suite, 1 Queen Bed, Ocean View

Suite, 1 Queen Bed, Ocean View

1 queen bed
861-sq-foot (80-sq-meter) room, balcony with ocean views

Layout - Bedroom and living room
Entertainment - Free WiFi
Food & Drink - Kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, and coffee/tea maker
Bathroom - Private bathroom, shower, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Sofa bed, free newspaper, and iron/ironing board; cribs/infant beds available on request
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details
Standard Room (Breakfast for 1 person)

Standard Room (Breakfast for 1 person)

1 double bed
269-sq-foot (25-sq-meter) room, balcony with city and mountain views

Entertainment - Free WiFi
Food & Drink - Refrigerator and coffee/tea maker
Bathroom - Private bathroom, shower, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Free newspaper, iron/ironing board, and desk
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Need to Know - No cribs (infant beds) available
Non-Smoking
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Hide room details
Cairns Plaza Hotel
145 The Esplanade, Cairns, QL Australia 4870

Rooms
Make yourself at home in one of the 60 air-conditioned rooms featuring refrigerators. Rooms have private balconies. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available to keep you connected. Private bathrooms have complimentary toiletries and hair dryers.

Amenities
Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as an outdoor pool, or other amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access and tour/ticket assistance.

Dining
Enjoy a satisfying meal at a restaurant serving guests of Cairns Plaza Hotel. Breakfast is available for a fee.

Business, Other Amenities
Featured amenities include complimentary newspapers in the lobby, dry cleaning/laundry services, and a 24-hour front desk. Free self parking is available onsite.

null

National Rating
This property has been awarded a star rating from the Australian Star Ratings Agency, Star Ratings Australia.

Know Before You Go

  • The property has connecting/adjoining rooms, which are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property using the number on the booking confirmation.

Fees

The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: AUD 9.50 per person (approximately)
  • Airport shuttle fee: AUD 15.00 per person (one way)
  • Airport shuttle fee per child: AUD 15.00 (one way)
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: AUD 10 per stay

The above list may not be comprehensive. Fees and deposits may not include tax and are subject to change.

AMENITIES:
  • 24-Hour Front Desk
  • Dry Cleaning Service
  • Laundry Services/Laundry Facility
  • Outdoor Pool
(+) = Additional fees may apply for the use of these amenities.
(*) = Free, some restrictions may apply

Based on 801 reviews
from Sydney, Australia
Submitted on 21-05-2016
I think this hotel is a great option especially for its price. It's located right across the muddy's playground, great if you have kids and it's about 2-3 blocks away from the main section of the esplanade that has many restaurants. There's an Indonesian cafe just a stone throw away too. The standard room that we have is quite spacious, the bathroom is also quite spacious, and it has a small balcony. The staff are good, I didn't have any issue with any of them. The free wifi is functional, alt... Read more
from Manus Island
Submitted on 22-05-2016
Although it was a short stay for only night, but everything was perfect. The room including the bathroom was tidy and clean. The reception was welcoming and cooperative. The location of the hotel was very handy. The taxi I asked for came in due time which was amazing.
from Beijing, China
Submitted on 23-05-2016
the room is very big and clear. service is inpressed.i will go again with my family.i will nominate it for my friends.Excellent swimming pool and big bright terrace was in my memory.l like this trip very much.
from Perth, Australia
Submitted on 24-05-2016
Best value for location, service, friendly welcoming staff. Recommend to everyone. As we were arriving early morning the hotel was very happy to let us leave our luggage there until the afternoon book in time. Our room on the 5th floor had a panoramic of the harbour. The location is ideal for a very short walk to the restaurants etc .
from ambarcapoor
Submitted on 25-05-2016
The hotel is well located at the end of the Esplenade walk. The rooms are very large and clean. The desk staff and house keeping are very polite and efficient. CONS: We stayed in 6 different rooms. All the bathrooms had something different. Either the taps were backwards, or the shower wouldn't have enough pressure, or the pot was in a strange place. There are some "natural inahbitants" of the hotel as well. While it didn't bother me too much, some folks might not be too keen on cockroaches shar... Read more
from Brisbane
Submitted on 02-06-2016
Hotel was old but clean , service was pretty good . Position was excellent within walking distance to restaurants - great parking and free ! We had 3 people in a room for 5 days for a netball tournament - so we weren't there much , but it did the job and we had a small balcony to escape too also.
from Sydney, Australia
Submitted on 05-06-2016
An old hotel in the centre of the city, and with it comes all the problems, the nice young General Manage, Joel was brilliant a credit to his company. The location is the best part of the property it is central to everything and great if you have to do business. During my stay there was a water issue, lift issue, power issue etc none of which was the fault of the General Manager or his hotel, it was great to see an individual step up and guide his team. The food is good, so are the staff and so... Read more
from Launceston, Australia
Submitted on 06-06-2016
Loved the layout of the rooms. Great ocean view form both balconies. Within walking distance to Cairns CBD. Reception staff were very courteous and helpful. Would definitely stay at Cairns Plaza again.
from Yeppoon, Australia
Submitted on 07-06-2016
Just what you need went you are tired. A lovely clean room. Also the Receptionist could not help us enough.....top lady. This hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to restaurants etc. I would come back here again! Thank you.
from Western Australia
Submitted on 07-06-2016
We just spent 2 nights at Cairns Plaza Hotel and really used it as a base for activities out of Cairns and up to Port Douglas. We were very impressed with the quality of the rooms (clean, comfortable and modern) and the friendliness of the staff. It is in a great location near the Boardwalk and very easy to get to and from the main areas of downtown Cairns. Parking was provided also at no cost. Overall a really nice place to stay for the price paid and would certainly come back again.
from Adelaide
Submitted on 21-06-2016
Stayed at this hotel first visit was in an Ocean View Room very good setup and layout quite spacious. Second visit was in June and had a standard room was very good and roomy. Staff at reception were really good and helpful, the cleaners were very well mannered and the whole property looks inviting. Pool area was clean and well maintained. Late night arrival was easy and no fuss as the hotel has 24 hour reception. Iron Man weekend was a bonus as this hotel is in a great location and a short walk... Read more
from Northern Territory, Australia
Submitted on 21-06-2016
Great place to stay, very good location. Short walk to everything but out of the noise of the main drag. Good reception staff, very friendly and helpful. Asked for different pillows and we received promptly.View from our balcony was awesome. Didn't eat breakfast there, but it was busy every morning. Would stay again for sure.
from Perth, Australia
Submitted on 22-06-2016
It was my overnight stay, very comfortable and walking distance to the beach and eateries. Also very close walking distance to night market for shopping souvenirs. Will stay there again with family. Good reception service.
from Innisfail, Australia
Submitted on 22-06-2016
Great staff.. great location.. amazing water views... kitchenette was useful...bed was comfy and the shower..wow! My only complaint.. i only had one night here. Will definately stay again next time im in Cairns.
from Brisbane, Australia
Submitted on 22-06-2016
The staff were awesome and every time I needed something they helped me out. No plates, bowls spoons, etc. They only provide tea / coffee gear. Suggest bringing your own or disposable breakfast / snack kitchen things. Awesome spot for 4-10 year old kids. There is a huge park straight across the road and a pool on site.
from Sydney, Australia
Submitted on 28-06-2016
Stayed at Cairns Plaza for 3 nights after our dive trip, and was very enjoyable. Staff was friendly, room was clean and spacious with everything we needed, nice side view from our balcony onto the sea, breakfast was fine for $9, parked our rental car there with no problems, location isn't the most central but only 5 min walk to everything you need on the Esplanade. Was a very good value stay and we would definitely go back. Only complaint we would have is that the room doors are quite noisy when... Read more
from New South Wales, Australia
Submitted on 29-06-2016
The location was amazing, the hotel was clean and nice and was reasonably priced. The view was great too and a total surprise! They are very strict on the checkin times which wasn't awesome as we had our baby with us, but the location was so good we could go for a very long walk and check out Cairns.
from Brisbane, Australia
Submitted on 29-06-2016
Good room for the price, great location but a little noisy at night. Right on the esplanade opposite a playground for the kids. Easy walk along the Esplanade to restaurants and shops. Breakfast okay. Free WIFI very slow. Friendly staff on hand 24/7.
from Sydney
Submitted on 30-06-2016
Clean, spacious rooms, concierge very helpful, good location, nice views, close to restaurants but away from the hustle of the crowd!! loved the stay, would like to go back again, would like to have television in the bedroom
from Enfield, United Kingdom
Submitted on 30-06-2016
We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights in a suite on fourth floor which was very comfortable and clean with two rooms and balconies and a beautiful view of the bay. Staff were very helpful lending us umbrellas, scales to weigh suitcase, you could hire a towel for the reef visit. There was a choice of breakfasts. It took about 20 minutes or so to walk to the marina. All night staff which was very fortunate as my flight was changed by the airline to arrive at 10.30pm so after 11pm by the time we arr... Read more
from .wollongong
Submitted on 03-07-2016
Room was very basic.. No where to put clothes other than tiny wardrobe with 3 hangers.. Bathroom desperately needs an exhaust fan, air conditioning was shoddy, curtains didn't cover the entire window and let light/sun in, noise from the room above was really loud.. Great location, pool was clean, free parking was great, staff mainly friendly and helpful.. It has it's ups and downs
from Mannheim, Germany
Submitted on 05-07-2016
The hotel has a very good location and a lot of parking slots. Our bathroom was modern and nice, the room was a bit mixed between modern and old but still good. BUT: Don't book breakfast! It's ridiculous because you get just the cheapest (0,85$ :D) toast from coles with jam, honey and vegiemite in little plastic boxes. Furthermore, two types cornflakes and a few muffins. That's it and they call it 'intercontinental'!
from Auckland Region, New Zealand
Submitted on 05-07-2016
Good location, very good sized rooms, clean and very helpful staff. We really enjoyed the Skyrail Tour and Train Trip back from Karanda. Weather was nice and warm and Cairns is a nice city. Food mall was good and next to market.
from
Submitted on 05-07-2016
Was disappointed with this accommodation.Rooms were minimalist,cups and glasses were not washed or cleaned during daily service of room. No restaurant was available although this was listed in brochures,continental breakfast was severely lacking in choice. Overall a disappointing stay.
from Newcastle, Australia
Submitted on 06-07-2016
Our unit on the fourth floor was spacious, comfortable and clean. It really did have genuine water views which we enjoyed. It was reasonably close to town and an easy walk to food and tourist activities.
from Melbourne
Submitted on 07-07-2016
We stayed a 1 night before getting on boat to Fitzroy island (separate review).We were pleasantly surprised with the room for 4 we booked. Staff were very helpful as we arranged two packages to be delivered to the hotel before arrival. This was no trouble. The room was surprising. It was a large and well decorated room with a king size bed and two single beds- all comfortable. The room has obviously been modernized with a nice floor and bathroom. It is only 10-15 minutes walk to the wharf. ... Read more
from Healesville, Australia
Submitted on 09-07-2016
Basic facilities, found bed uncomfortable due to protruding springs. The balcony had removed tiles which had been covered with a mat and the balcony railing seemed low and flimsy which made us feel unsafe. Staff were very friendly and breakfast was very good.
from Winchester, United Kingdom
Submitted on 11-07-2016
Great location- only a few minutes walk to the newest restaurant Friendly helpful staff. Very clean room. Great to have the fridge, and tea and coffee making facilities. Great shower- spacious and powerful.
from Buderim, Australia
Submitted on 11-07-2016
Friendly staff, clean rooms - comfortable beds and pillows, very central to CBD - walking distance to shops, cafes, street lagoon. Pickup available to tourist destinations. Short walk to the pier for trips to the islands.
from Sydney, Australia
Submitted on 11-07-2016
We had one night in Cairns before heading back to Sydney. The Plaza Hotel was at the very end of the Esplanade which was great. We were able to walk down to the Wharf end and back choosing where we wanted to eat and enjoying the views whilst having our accommodation away from the hustle and bustle of the extremely busy and loud main street. Staff were very accommodating and and our taxi to the airport was cheaper than the Hotel Shuttle Bus at $12pp. They also kept our bags safe and let us s... Read more
from Melbourne, Australia
Submitted on 12-07-2016
Great location and close to all facilities. Friendly courteous staff. Continental breakfast more than adequate. Supporting tourist services also polite and efficient. Great value for money. I would stay there again if I visit Cairns as the tariff is very reasonable.
from New South Wales, Australia
Submitted on 13-07-2016
We stayed here for one night before flying out of Cairns after having been to Port Douglas. Slightly off course from CBD centre but still within a manageable walking distance to restaurants and shops.Clean room, well priced and efficient staff.Free parking!
from Canberra, Australia
Submitted on 14-07-2016
This charmless hotel could be anywhere in the world. A recent refurbishment has given this old dog some new life but don't expect any bells or whistles. The walls are thick enough between rooms, just, but on the windy night we stayed the window whistled as traffic rumbled steadily by. The staff are courteous and friendly.
from Scotland
Submitted on 15-07-2016
This hotel was fine but nothing special. The room was clean although despite there being 4 adults staying and with that noted in the booking, we were consistantly only supplied with 3 towels and 3 glasses/cups. Only 2 chairs too, which meant bringing the less than comfortable outdoor chairs inside to sit at the table. We had a nice view from the balcony but as noted in other coments the railing was low and wobbly. This hotel would have been fine if it was a couple staying but not great when payi... Read more
from Redondo Beach, California
Submitted on 15-07-2016
Went here after reading TA reviews. Stayed here with 14 yr old boy and wife. It was better than expected. AC, fridge, decent sized bathroom, free wi-fi, partial view of ocean (room 210). Located at the north end of the "beach strip" which was great also. The difference maker for me was the staff especially Melissa. Friendly, helped with bookings, good advice. Another bonus was there is 24 hour front desk help. Traveling through Australia for a month with family, I can't tell you what a help... Read more
from Cairns, Australia
Submitted on 18-07-2016
This was a wonderful hotel in the perfect location to see everything that Cairns has to offer! The rooms were clean, the front desk staff were amazing and the pool is beautiful and refreshing. I would definitely not hesitate to stay here again.
from Cairns, Australia
Submitted on 18-07-2016
This is a small hotel by hotel standards and this adds an element of charm. Views and location are fantastic - an easy stroll to countless restaurants and the water is only 30 meters away. I unfortunately erred with my reservation. I had booked a friend into another room as well as mine. However I made the bookings for different dates. The hotel was fully booked as we're all the other hotels. However Melissa on reception had organised another bed for me within 10 minutes. Her service and hospita... Read more
from Durban, South Africa
Submitted on 19-07-2016
Cairns was one of our best holidays. Although we spent a short time there we loved every moment. The hotel is very well kept with good breakfasts. The hotel staff went out of their way to help us and to make our stay comfortable. The hotel was just across the road from the children's play park which has wet and dry activity areas. We couldn't get our 6 year old son out! But no worries because of the superb weather - 27 degrees Celsius! We had an awesome stay and cannot wait to get back. Maybe pe... Read more
from Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Submitted on 19-07-2016
Good location- close enough to main shops and restaurants, but not noisy. Spacious room. Clean and tidy. Excellent shower pressure. The shower drain was however blocked and took a while to drain. Also, the design of the bathroom made it difficult to enter. The door ironically blocks the entrance once it is open. If you were on the large side you might find it hard to get in.
from Melbourne, Australia
Submitted on 19-07-2016
We are frequent visitors to the hotel always enjoy our stay we are in walking distance to shops in cairns. We will stay again when the western bulldogs play I cairns again. our room was always perfectly.l
from Toowoomba, Australia
Submitted on 19-07-2016
Comfortable and clean room. courteous staff and great location , as I have stayed here before I had no hesitation in booking here again. We had a nice ocean view and found the staff to be very helpful and professional in their duties.
from Illinois City, Illinois
Submitted on 20-07-2016
We enjoyed our stay at the Cairns Plaza. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The location was great! We were able to walk to restaurants, lagoon, pier, and shops. We would stay there next time we are in the area.
from
Submitted on 21-07-2016
friendly helpful staff and very clean modern facility. Easy walk to the restaurants and the city centre. Booking facilities for tours and most will pick up at the door. Our room on the sixth floor was a good size and away from noisy traffic. Strong, fast and free wi-fi connection is always a bonus when away from home.
from Brisbane, Australia
Submitted on 24-07-2016
The rooms are spacious and clean. Staff is friendly and the price are reasonable.Located at a very short distance from the esplanade and CBD. Aircon and 24 hr reception Very good value. Free Internet.
from
Submitted on 25-07-2016
dont plan a late night. be prepared to be woken up by cleaners slamming doors, talking and vacuuming hours before the check out time. note property is non smoking so literally the whole area including balcony and parking area.
TOP